Settings – Users and user rights

This article describes how to create new users and set user rights.

The rights of a user can be set at a group or site level, but also to a specific screen area for a specific screen. Only users that are company administrators or users with authorization to manage users can create, change passwords or set user rights. For security, a user can never provide higher user rights than they themselves have access to!

Settings and functions for users and user groups can be found under Settings – User Accounts in the menu. If you do not see this option, you do not have the right to manage users and need to contact your account manager.

Section contents:

Create a user

  1. Navigate to settings  User Accounts  Add User
    Dec-11-2019_14-56-36.gif

  2. Fill in the user details and if the person should have access to the account for a certain time, then set a time limit on the user account.

    You can choose the password yourself or send a password link to the user's e-mail. If a password link is sent to the user, the user also receives information on how to log in.

    When they first login, the user will be asked to change their password.

    Dec-11-2019_14-59-40.gif
  3. Select Save and Close to create the user

    Dec-11-2019_15-02-22.gif
  4. Select the user to edit their user rights.
    Continue to read this article for more information on user rights.
    Dec-11-2019_15-04-47.gif

Create a user group

A user group can be used if several users have the same user rights. With a user group, you only need to set the user rights for the group once and then connect the users to the user group. This avoids the need to set the same rights for each individual user.

  1. Navigate to settings  User Accounts  User groups  Add user group Dec-11-2019_15-08-19.gif
  2. Give the user group a name and a description for the group’s user rights. Then select Save and Close

    Dec-11-2019_15-10-17.gif
  3. Select the user group to edit the user group’s rights. 
    Continue to read this article for more information on how all user rights work.
    Dec-11-2019_15-13-25.gif

Structure limitations - Locations and groups

To choose which screens a user is able to manage, select Limitations in Structure – Groups and Limitations in Structure – Locations. You can then select which groups / locations the user should be able to manage and see. You can also select one or more areas in these groups / locations that a user can manage.

  1. Click on the user and scroll down to Limitations in Structure – Locations / Groups.
    Dec-11-2019_15-16-09.gif
  2. Select either Limitations on Structure – Groups or Limitations on Structure – Locations.
    When selected, a list of all Groups/Locations is displayed where you can choose what user rights the user should have for those Groups/Locations.

    Dec-11-2019_15-18-46.gif

    Scheduling: The right to schedule different screen layouts if more than one screen layout is associated with the current group/location.
    Manage / Change: The right to add, delete and change content on the site.
    Show / view: View the contents of a playlist.
    Hidden: The group, location or screen area is not displayed to the user and is not a selectable option.
    (If no selection is made here, it is hidden from the user)

This section goes through all the function and management rights that can be applied to a user or user group.

Organization rights

Manage users: The user can access the "User Account" section in the main menu. The user is allowed to create users and user groups as well as manage existing users. The user cannot give a user account higher user rights than they have themselves.

Manage Structure: The user has access to the "Screen structure" and "Screen layouts" sections in the main menu. The user can manage locations, groups and layouts.

Managing Base Content: The user can manage the basic material for a screen layout. 

Tools

Manage units: The user can access the "List media players" section in the main menu, connect media players with different layouts and see status updates for media players.

Manage Heartbeat: The user can access the Heartbeat section of the main menu and can create media player monitoring lists. 

 

User Rights for message templates

Manage all message templates: The user can manage message templates and create new message templates.

Manage all message templates in the locations & groups where the user has the right to edit: The user has access to all message templates that are linked to the locations the user has access to. The user may also create and modify existing message templates that the user has access to.

New empty message template in publish: The user is authorized to create a new blank template in Publish + Add new Templates. The user cannot save the template in the template archive unless the user has the right to "Manage all QUICKnote templates" but the user can use the created template.

Use colorpicker: The user is allowed to choose the color of text in addition to the organization’s brand colors.

Use all message templates / Restrict usage to these templates: Restricts the user to using selected templates.

  

User rights for media objects

Full rights (all that follows)The user gets full rights in the media library.

Create folders: The user is allowed to create folders in the media library.

Edit folders: The user can rename folders in the media library.

Delete folders: The user is allowed to delete folders in the media library.

Create media objects: The user is allowed to upload media objects (images, video, links, etc.) to the media library.

Edit media objects: The user is allowed to rename media objects.

Delete media objects: The user is allowed to delete media objects.

Access to all folders in the media library: The user can access all folders in the media library.

Limit the media library to these folders: Limit the user to use selected folders.

  

Priority

Unlimited maximum priority: The user can set unlimited maximum priority on media objects.

Set maximum priority to: Restrict the user to only select priority up to a certain level for a media object.

 

Functions

All users who become a function user for a function are given the right to use and update the information in a particular function(s). A function user is not allowed to change or delete an input.

Input for Information Flow, Events and Target value all have the same type of user rights settings and the description below can be applied to all three.

Management: The user has access to the function settings and can invite or modify active function users.

Use all: The user is allowed to use and update the information in all created functions in the account.

Limit usage to these: The user is limited to only certain features of the account.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 5 found this helpful

Comments

0 comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.